Most lives are spent waiting. Waiting for dreams to manifest, for trouble to end, and for life to be happy. Golden Zen reflects on the brillance of the NOW and the winks we receive from our Source to remind us we possess it all. Golden Zen is practical and mystical, instructive and reflective. You are my invited guest.

I watched in awe tonight as Olympic athletes dazzled millions of viewers and challenged my courage and determination.

I couldn’t help but wonder why I have given up so easy, been persuaded to lose, lost sight of my goals, and quit because I was exhausted.   I am of course inspired and bewildered.

Tonight a BC athlete won a silver medal after a grueling 11/2 hour triathlon competition.  I could go into long detail about the race and the competition, but the point might be lost.

Simon Whitfield wins a silver Medal

Simon Whitfield wins a silver Medal

Simon Whitfield taught me a great lesson.  In the last 15-30 seconds of the triathlon, when every cell in his body screamed in pain for oxygen and relief, he executed his winning KICK.  Running in a pack of 4 outstanding male athletes, he repeated what won him a gold medal in the same sport in the 2000 Olympic Games in Sydney.  He kicked it into high gear and sprinted.  All of a sudden, after falling at the back of the pack, he astounded the crowds with a surge that came, not from his weary body, but his unwillingness to cross that line 4th or 5th.

How unwilling am I to quit what I know is my life intention?  Racked with pain, drenched in humid heat that drained every once of energy, and apparently falling behind, Simon used his intention and transmuted that energy into physical stamina and determination.  He just wouldn’t give up or in.

Oh sure, I am proud that he is Canadian and from my own province.  I am proud of all the athletes from around the world.  It’s not the competition that I find arresting, it is the single-mindedness, the pinpoint intention that allowed Simon Whitfield to experience the joy and the honor you can see in this photo.

In Zen, we see ourselves in others, in nature, in space, in all things.  If Simon can move through pain into the pursuit of his dream, you and I can run our race to the finish.

My blessed readers, we have so much to cheer about.  We are in life to live it to its utmost. 

Thank you to all the athletes who have inspired the world to “be” our best selves.  And thank you in advance to my readers – would you share what you do get yourself to the finish line of your dreams?

In the Grace of the Moment,
Harmony

PS  Many thanks to RICHARD LAUTENS / TORONTO STAR for the brilliant photo and story at http://olympics.thestar.com/2008/article/480975

Comments on: "Silver Medal – Golden Effort" (13)

  1. Hi Harmony – it is great when someone is really in the zone and does their best, isn’t it!

    An example for me is something I noticed when I used to to see a lot of jazz, back in the 80s (because I lived with jazz musicians). I always felt inspired while I was there – though I did not even really listen to the music that much. I realised it was the fact they were “in the zone” that had the effect on me (I know now I don’t even really like jazz).

  2. goldenzen said:

    Robin – I hear you, (and I do like Jazz actually :-). The key is learning how to get (and stay!) in our zone.

  3. I felt that winning moment when I completed my triathlon and my marathon. Even though I am slow and a back of the pack runner, the feeling of kicking it in and not giving up when the last grueling miles of pain and fatigue were setting in was a sense of pride that did something for my self esteem to this day. I was also a source of new knowledge of my inner self.

    I learned that even when I FEEL like I have nothing more to give, there is a deeper well to draw from that is waiting for me to tap into.

    You are so right Harmony. We are all so blessed.

  4. What do I do to get to the finish line of my dreams? I walk. Dance. Listen. Cry. Plan. Share. I fall and get back up again. All the time my eyes are focused on that horizon that is always in front of me. And I know there is someone there championing me to keep going. That person is me.

  5. goldenzen said:

    Wendi – So you know first hand! I have such admiration for Olympians and school ground athletes alike. In fact, anyone who creates anything AMAZES ME. Thank for sharing.

    Davina – I have even been know to crawl 🙂 Thank you for sharing!

  6. Hi Harmony,

    What an inspiring post. For me, it’s my faith and belief in myself I can do it.

    Those Olympians are great role models. They never give up, do they?

  7. Harmony,

    I have no idea what makes one person give up versus another. Today I found out from a friend that a mutual acquaintance of ours committed suicide.

    I know we all have different life circumstances and it is interesting what makes one person stronger and another give in.

    Then I wonder what is giving in anyway.

    We fight the wave, the current
    An Ocean

    No matter

  8. Harmony,
    Great post! For me it is all about self awareness coupled with passion which drives me to achieve my desires.

  9. People win gold medals and it is worth bearing in mind that there is no reason why you – or I or anyone reading this – can’t be one of them, in whatever our particular ‘event’ in life may be. We are right to be inspired by those who are triumphant.

    At the same time, it is one of life’s conundrums that not all of us can win medals. If, as I believe, we are all one with the Divine, with the very life force of the universe, why should this be? And how do we deal with this?

    It is important, of course, to make sure that we are running in the right event – the event in which we have come to earth to participate. It is also, perhaps, important to realize that running the race is what is really important, as hackneyed as that may sound. And perhaps it is also important to realize something that is often overlooked: that there are a great many more ‘events’ in life’s Olympics than the obvious ones. Many otherwise ‘unsuccessful’ people go through life simply being kind to those they meet in the course of their days. They don’t win any medals for that. Perhaps they should.

  10. A wonderful inspirational message:
    …’In Zen, we see ourselves in others, in nature, in space, in all things.
    ..’we have so much to cheer about. We are in life to live it to its utmost…’
    Thanks Harmony for sharing your insights.You are a source of inspiration for many of us.
    God bless.

  11. My wonderful readers: I am so blessed to read your comments and I hope others have also done so.

    Ellen – I am so very sorry that you expereinced such a painful loss of a friend.

    May your marathon of life lead each reader to a place of total abandon and utter vitality.

  12. goldenzen said:

    Simon – I like your comments…to win you gotta at least run in the race. I think so often I expect results without the action. Thanks!

  13. goldenzen said:

    Ellen, I got the email with your latest comment here, but I see your comment it is not showing, I am not sure why. I will respond to you personally.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

