Most lives are spent waiting. Waiting for dreams to manifest, for trouble to end, and for life to be happy. Golden Zen reflects on the brillance of the NOW and the winks we receive from our Source to remind us we possess it all. Golden Zen is practical and mystical, instructive and reflective. You are my invited guest.

Words: Mine Ran Away

I had such an unusual experience today with words.

I was visiting a site I like a lot for their content on writing: Men With Pens.  James asked us to share why we write, after he posted quite a brilliant piece on why he does.  I read the comments below and felt inspired to add a post.

I wrote about 3 paragraphs, edited, and was ready to push publish, when I had the strongest compulsion to really edit.  Don’t ask me how, but I knew that many of the words just didn’t want to be there.

Before I knew it I had crossed out a lot of words!

Then it appeared to me that I could use some design with the words I had left.  But even half of those words jumped off the page, never to return.

What I was left with is a poem, I think. (smile) 

I wasn’t trying to be poetic or dramatic.  I followed the words into silence and most of them wanted to leave.

All that was left is seen below.  Writing is like painting for me, it lets me let go, and then watch creation form itself.

Feel free to express your relationship with writing.  Why do you write, and can you catch your runaway words? (smile)  Be sure to check out James’ article highlighted above.

***********************************************

Words

 

Contain my essence

often fail,

I persist.

 

Words

 

Describe wonders;

occupy space,

I retreat.

 

Hug silence.

no thoughts,

I am no form.

 

Stumble back

search again

for my friend,

 

Words

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments on: "Words: Mine Ran Away" (8)

  1. I love the huge gap, if it’s intentional: it really captures the sort of ‘blankout’ space that everyone goes through, but working writers more so.

    MD Yeow
    Editor, katanaBlue

  2. if we come to think of it, words are all we really have.

  3. goldenzen said:

    @mdy001
    You know it wasn’t intentional ad then again, most of this process had a mind of it’s own…how funny. It does have significance though for those of us who play with words.
    Thanks for stopping by.

    @Angus
    Words are certainly an expression of what we have. Have you ever been on a silent retreat? I must say, that is when I really understand how much I rely on words. Great to have you visit.

    Thanks to you both for your comments.

  4. Ah, that is a beautiful ode to words. This is why I love poetry so much, the way it can take words and turn them into magic 😉

  5. goldenzen said:

    Melissa, thank you for dropping by. Knowing your prolific relationship with words and poetry, I consider myself blessed.

  6. Words and letters certainly do have minds of their own. Automatic writing also introduces some human beings to invisible doors into other dimensions.

  7. goldenzen said:

    Liara,
    Yes. It has been some time since I spent unhurried time for that. Thank you for your comment.
    Harmony

  8. Our priorities are always changing based on our own conscious and unconscious choices. When you want a certain experience at a conscious level, you will bend over backwards to change your life and focus attention on that. Any excuses you offer for not doing something means you are not ready or willing to do it, and it may relate to fear.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

