Most lives are spent waiting. Waiting for dreams to manifest, for trouble to end, and for life to be happy. Golden Zen reflects on the brillance of the NOW and the winks we receive from our Source to remind us we possess it all. Golden Zen is practical and mystical, instructive and reflective. You are my invited guest.

How do we get ready for the solutions we need in our lives?  
 When you find yourself needing a breakthrough of some kind ~ in your love life, finances, state of mind, career or sport, how have you found the lesson or teacher you needed?

www.discoveryeducation.comI have tried several strategies:

1.  My default method is to PLOW ON despite the odds (who needs a teacher anyway?). I think of myself as a survivor, so I will buck up, work hard and try to make someone proud of me. Of course, that rarely produces anything but more stress and suffering.  And in the end, I am not even proud of me.

2. I have taken scores of courses.  I love to learn, and I was quite convinced if I could learn more, I could be the teacher. 

Then I met George. I was 31 and he was 78. I was teaching a course on Leadership.  (God help us all!)

At the break, I went to George and introduced myself.  I wanted to meet this elderly gentleman who appeared so interested in what I had to say.  After some trivial chatter, I broached the subject.  “George, I am curious.  Why in the world would someone like you be in a class on leadership taught by someone less than half your age and basically as green as tree moss about how to lead in tough times?”

He didn’t hesitate.  He took my arm and looked into my baby blues with deep sincerity.  “My dear, when you get to be my age you learn just how much you don’t know.”

I have never forgotten his words.  The teacher was there alright, and just in time.

3. Then I have my practice (Golden Zen).  I expect that if I sense I need something, the teacher is already present.  Usually, I don’t recognize him/her or it right off the bat.  You see, I prefer a sophisticated, rather classy and impressive type instructor, and rarely see that appear in my life.  My teachers are late-night empty gas tanks, windshield wipers that don’t work in pouring rain, incessant loud noises from neighboring condos, cheques lost in the mail, bill collectors, 10 pounds that LOVE my derriere, and men who forget to be affectionate and affirming.  Did I mention my relatives?

My lessons are always present, my teachers are in attendance, if my heart is willing to open enough to see them.

I invite your stories.  Perhaps even now, if you pause, there is a teacher in your life and lessons you’ve learned that would benefit someone else. 

Your students are ready.

In the Grace of the Moment,

Harmony

PS. 

Much to my surprise, I found an eBook that took the practice of ZEN and combined it with the basics of blogging.  Being new to the scene of blogging, and committed to a practice of Golden Zen, it seemed to me to be the perfect find.

“When the student is ready, the teacher will come”. (Who said that first anyway?)

It’s cheeky, imaginative, and informative; a quick read. You can download it at (http://hunternuttall.com/blog/2008/02/free-ebook-the-zen-of-blogging).
Hunter Nuttall’s blog is worth watching.  He is relatively new to the scene also, and offers some good conversation and thought stimulation.

Image generously shared by www.discoveryeducation.com

Comments on: "When The Student Is Ready The Teacher Appears" (14)

  1. Hi, Harmony. Thanks for linking to my ebook. While my blog is not about blogging per se (it’s about life), I found that many of my readers happened to be bloggers. Writing an ebook seemed to be a good way to put together some thoughts about blogging, without writing a lot of posts that distracted from my purpose.

    I don’t know who first said “When the student is ready, the teacher will come.” Whoever it was, it appears they were very wise!

  2. goldenzen said:

    Hunter, you are most welcome. It is a gift to all new bloggers. You are right, that didn’t come through clear here in my post. Thanks!

  3. Excellent post, Harmony! It’s the small things that teach, if I’m open enough and aware enough to receive the message.

  4. goldenzen said:

    I appreciate your comment Marion. Being open – therin is the rub! :-)
    Harmony

  5. Just goes to prove what I have always said (since before I was even green as tree moss ;) ) that we can learn something from everyone we meet. Everyone has a story to tell and knowledge to share. Thank-you for sharing more of yours.

    Note: as much as teachers are amazing in what they do, I find my best learning (the real life surviving stuff) has come from mentors. And mentoring can take the simple form of a single lesson, but the how, when and the content of the message makes it a mentoring situation. The lucky ones have a mentor for life.

  6. goldenzen said:

    How right you are! Thank you Arkay for your comments.
    Mentors are “being” and we get to watch.

  7. You write very well, Harmony, and I *love* the story about George. What a very wise man! Speaking of relatives, my Dad (God bless him!) decided that he knew just about everything round about the time the second world war broke out. He’s spent the rest of his life feeling rather perplexed that the world no longer works like it did in the 1930s.

  8. goldenzen said:

    You know SS, I know it can go either way as we age. I am on guard myself to remain open to what is new, rather than clinging to what I knew.

    Thanks for your kind post!

  9. I concur that as we are ready to learn, we open our senses and realize opportunities are all around us. Its a question of raising awareness and having courage to act or interact.

  10. goldenzen said:

    Liara, thank you for your always thoughtful comments.

  11. [...] When The Student Is Ready The Teacher Appears [...]

  12. “My teachers are late-night empty gas tanks, windshield wipers that don’t work in pouring rain, incessant loud noises from neighboring condos, cheques lost in the mail, bill collectors, 10 pounds that LOVE my derriere, and men who forget to be affectionate and affirming. Did I mention my relatives?”

    I checked this out after reading the recommendation at Davina’s blog.

    Thanks for the wisdom and the laugh!

  13. I love this!!! Thank you!

  14. Hi, just thought I would leave a note….it was so ironic to me, how I found this website. I remembered an old Buddhist Proverb, “When the student is ready the teacher will appear.” I was including that in a paper, as I am studying for my Master’s Degree, and this paper just happened to be in a Leadership course! I saw you taught a leadership course as well. I loved your insight into who our real instructor’s are and the comment about the elderly gentlemen who realized how much he didn’t know.

    An instructor of mine once said, when you get your Bachelor’s degree, you realize you know everything, when you get your Master’s, you realize there is a lot you don’t know, and when you get your Doctorate, you realize that we really know nothing at all.

    Just thought I would share. Thank you for a smile on my face.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

