Most lives are spent waiting. Waiting for dreams to manifest, for trouble to end, and for life to be happy. Golden Zen reflects on the brillance of the NOW and the winks we receive from our Source to remind us we possess it all. Golden Zen is practical and mystical, instructive and reflective. You are my invited guest.

Talking About Yourself – Is It Vain,  Should you Force Your Way Into a Conversation?

SO, here is the story – short and sweet.  I met up with a really great friend of mine today for coffee.  We were discussing friends of ours over the years and she said that some of our friends thought I had a dull, nothing, DUDD, borseville life.

I kinda dropped a jaw and burst out laughing.  My lovely friend said part of the problem was mine.  According to her, and frankly she is far from the first person to say so,  I am a great listener, but rarely say much about my life or what is going on.

I DROP CLUES

You see I drop clues, hints, suggestions, subtle remarks thinking:

if this is remotely interesting this person will inquire for more details, show interest, maybe even be excited.

Seems I am wrong.  The way of this world is that you need to BRING IT my friend says.  You let your interest and enthusiasm for what you have to say capture your listener.

HMMMMM GO FIGURE!!!

SO I need to ask – Do you talk about yourself even if people don’t ask?  Do you keep on talking if they don’t seem all that interested?

I am ALL EARS HERE…Talk to me and each other below.  YES I AM LISTENING. :-))))

Comments on: "Talking About Yourself" (2)

  1. Its not about yourself but its all about letting your SELF!! When we try or want to “DO” the talking, it is all about oneself. But when we let the Self do the talking, it has that flavour. Makes a world of difference.

  2. WAHT I’VE BEEN TAUGHT IS TO BE TRUTHFUL, KIND, AND HELPFUL, AND THAT YOUR INFORMATION NEEDS TO BE NECESSARY OR RELEVANT, AND THAT “TRUTH IS ACCURATE INFORMATION ABOUT THE HERE-AND-NOW IN THE HERE-AND-NOW.” A SENSE OF HUMOR HELPS; ISN’T THE SECRET OF HUMOR SURPRISE? SOME PEOPLE WILL NOT MUCH CARE WHAT YOU HAVE TO SAY; YOU’LL BE BLEST TO FIND ONE WHO’LL LISTEN TO ALL YOU HAVE TO SHARE. ENTHUSIASM, EMPATHY, AND ENCOURAGEMENT ARE A A POWERFUL TRIO. I WAS TAUGHT TO ASK MY SELF, “IS THIS THE KIND OF THING THAT WILL STONE EVERYBODY?” SAYING “THANK YOU” SINCERELY TO THOSE WHO GAVE SOME ATTENTION TO WHAT YOU HAD TO SAY IS MAGIC!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

